Today… the day blood was let.

Ok, the title may be a bit over dramatic, as blood may have been spilt, but it certainly wasn’t a -bath.

I had major trouble trying to sleep last night, which was the first of my worries. Not only could I not get my 40 winks, My nose wouldn’t stop bleeding. I suffer from what I call ‘sporadic chronic epistaxis’. Epixtaxis is the scientific word for nosebleeds;  something which very fer people actually know. You may wonder how the hell it can be both sporadic (meaning random) and chronic (meaning continuous), but there is good reason behind that.

Terrible Nosebleed Control

Disgusting? Yeah I know.

My epistaxis is sporadic due to them coming at completely random times, usually at night (to which I automatically awake before), and is chronic due to when they do come, they come back within either a day or two to a few hours (or even minutes. I had up to 5 possible individual nosebleeds last night. Each characterised by a gap of at least a minute or two where no blood has flown out.

This lead to me finally getting me sleep at around 7am, which meant that I finally got up at 5pm. This is pretty shit really. My dad says it because I stay in bed all day, mind you he says that about everything. He complains about having to money to pay the bills, which is directly attributed to him sitting in front of the TV all day long.

I’ve had numerous theories over the years about the cause, however I think they may be hereditary as my uncle gets them constantly and a few of my cousins. My brother even gets them every now and then, but not as bad as me. There is a good theory that its linked to hay fever, as I used to get that pretty bad as well but who knows.

The common culprit people put on it is either having been knocked on the nose (something which has never, apart from once when it was just after having stopped, happened to me) or nose picking. I will admit that when I was younger, I partook in this nasty habit (at least not as foul as my first cousin, once removed who actually eats them), but alot of times it would start without even going near the bloody thing.

I have theories regarding radio waves be a possibility, as there is proof that they can cause them, but I’m not entirely sure. I may have to invest in a mini Faraday cage on my windows to check. Another one I thought of was air pressure, as that is also a know cause in high altitude areas.

Who knows really, I’ve never really been that much into biology, so there’s no way I’ll make it my dream to study it. Plus to get into Otolaryngology[1] (or ENT – Ear, Nose & Throat) the branch of surgery and medicine concerning the head and neck, would require a Medical Degree. I’m not a fan of dead bodies, and I’m certainly not one of cutting them up. If I would be stuck with the training, god knows how far I’d get with actual surgery.

In my time of not getting much sleep I was watching this video called No Béarla [2], and  Irish language programme that was originally shown on TG4 (the Irish version of S4C, which is a Welsh language TV channel that you can get in England and Wales). It was about a (I think) journalist who was fluent in the language, going around the island, seeing if he could get by only As Gaeilge.

It was quite enjoyable to be honest. There being 2 series it appears, each with 4 episodes in. I watched 3 of which, and despite the presenter being a bit of weirdo, he did some funny stuff like trying to describe condoms to a shop clerk. Shield for your Penis, I think was the term he finally used.

Well its coming on 12am, so good night all and Be good. And if you can’t be good Stay Out of Trouble! 😀

[1] – Otolaryngology – Wikipædia, the free encyclopædia
The full name of the specialty is Otorhinolaryngology from neoclassical Greek and modern Greek: ωτο(ρ)ρινολαρυγγολογία from ῥινο-, rhino– (root of ῥίς) “nose”, ὠτ-, ot– (root of οὖς) “ear”, λαρυγγ-, laryng– (root of λάρυγξ) “larynx/throat”, and the suffix -logy “study”; thus, the term literally means “the study of ear and throat”.

[2]
The term Béarla, literally means language, however its used to mean English. The reason behind this is that the Old Irish word for English was Sacs-Bhéarla, which is literally “[the] Saxon’s Language”. Béarla itself is a portmanteau word of bél (meaning “mouth”) and the collective suffix of -re (which originates from -rad, which has the same use.
Leave a Reply

